McDonogh Alum Wins Prestigious Lax Award

Congratulations to Taylor Cummings ’12, a student at the University of Maryland on being named the female Tewaaraton Award winner at the 14th annual ceremony on Thursday, May 29. The Tewaaraton Award is presented annually to the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the United States. Cummings was the first sophomore to win the women’s award.

According to an article in the Baltimore Sun, "One of the most versatile players among the five finalists, Cummings led the No. 1 Terps to their first NCAA championship in four years. She led the Terps in goals with 63, draw controls with 128 and caused turnovers with 30. She also had 24 assists." Read more in The Baltimore Sun.

The award ceremony was fittingly held at Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. Read more about the 2014 Tewaaraton Award in Inside Lacrosse.

Further congratulations are extended to Megan Whittle '14 for being named The Baltimore Sun's "Player of the Year," and to rising McDonogh senior Olivia Jenner who was recently named the winner of the prestigious Heather Leigh Albert National (HLA) Schoolgirl Award as the top player at the National Tournament. Read more about the award in LaxPower.

Directions   |    Site Map   |   Contact   |   Employment   |   Privacy Policy   |   Directory   |   Campus Map   |   Library   |   School Store   |   Support McDonogh

McDonogh School | 410.363.0600 |
8600 McDonogh Road | Owings Mills | Maryland | 21117