Senior Administration

The headmaster is Charles W. Britton. McDonogh employs the equivalent of 177 full-time faculty members, 20% of whom live on campus. More than 80% of faculty hold advanced degrees, and the average teaching tenure is 15.3 years. The student-teacher ratio is 9:1.

Administration

Charles W. Britton (2007)
Headmaster
Lake Forest College, B.A.
Middlebury College, M.A.
443-544-7002
cbritton@mcdonogh.org

Marie M. Allee (2000)
School Counselor
University of Tulsa, B.S.
New School for Social Research, M.A., Ph.D.
443-544-7006
mallee@mcdonogh.org

Lana Bates (2017)
Director of Equity and Inclusion
Hampton University, B.A.
College of William and Mary, M.Ed., Ed.S.
University of Virginia, Ed.D.
443-544-7007
lbates@mcdonogh.org

Stephen H. Birdsall (2006)
Director of Enrollment Management
Washington & Lee University, B.A.
Catholic University of America, M.A.
443-544-7021
sbirdsall@mcdonogh.org

Kevin J. Costa (2005)
Director of Innovation and Learning
Rhode Island College, B.A., M.A.
SUNY at Buffalo, Ph.D.
443-544-7130
kcosta@mcdonogh.org

Eunice M. Deegan (1988)
Co-Athletic Director; English Dept.
Gwynedd Mercy College, B.A.
Villanova University, M.A.T.
443-544-7141
mdeegan@mcdonogh.org

Darren J. Ford (1984)
Head of Middle School
Bucknell University, B.A.
Johns Hopkins University
443-544-7301
dford@mcdonogh.org

John W. Hardcastle (2006)
Chief Information Officer
Rice University, B.A.
443-544-7071
jwhardcastle@mcdonogh.org

Kerry Johnston (2016)
Director of Development
University of Maryland, B.S.
University of Vermont, M.Ed.
443-544-7041
kjohnston@mcdonogh.org

Merritt W. Livermore '91 (1999)
Head of Upper School
University of Maryland, B.S.
Johns Hopkins University, M.S.
443-544-7401
mlivermore@mcdonogh.org

Matthew G. MacMullan (1993)
Co-Athletic Director
University of Notre Dame, B.A.
443-544-7142
mmacmullan@mcdonogh.org

Barbara Robins (2005)
Head of Lower School
University of British Columbia, B.Ed.
443-544-7201
brobins@mcdonogh.org

Brad Shelley (2012)
Associate Headmaster
Trinity University, B.A.
443-544-7003
bshelley@mcdonogh.org

Nina C. Sinnott (2005)
Director of Communications
Washington College, B.A.
443-544-7035
nsinnott@mcdonogh.org

Sherri S. Voelkel (2016)
Chief Financial Officer
University of Tulsa, B.S.B.A.
443-544-7005
svoelkel@mcdonogh.org

Peter Welch (1993)
Chief Operating Officer
Varsity Wrestling Coach

University of North Carolina, B.A.
McDaniel College, M.S.
443-544-7004
pwelch@mcdonogh.org

Kara Zimmerman (2009)
Director of Fine and Performing Arts; Music and Movement Teacher
Muhlenberg College, B.A.
Johns Hopkins University, M.S.Ed.
443-544-7244
kzimmerman@mcdonogh.org


Directions   |    Site Map   |   Contact   |   Employment   |   Privacy Policy   |   Directory   |   Campus Map   |   Library   |   School Store   |   Support McDonogh

McDonogh School | 410.363.0600 |
8600 McDonogh Road | Owings Mills | Maryland | 21117